Payoff Student Loans or Save?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
richmondam

Payoff Student Loans or Save?

Post by richmondam » Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:48 pm

Hi, I have $140K in student loans at 5.25%. I expect to have some free cash flow in the next couple of years, and am trying to decide whether to pay off the debt or save and invest. Investments are with an RIA right now, and current bull market not withstanding I expect to get consistently average market returns over time. Any thoughts would be appreciated - thanks!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks everyone for the great insight! I'm a newbie here so adding the additional info as requested:

1. Interest on student loans is not deductible for me given income phaseout.
2. Effective tax rate last year was 25%, I expect it to be 33% for 2017. State is 5.75%
3. Free cash flow should be roughly $10K per month.
4. Many have commented on tax deferred plans. I am currently maxing out 401K, HSA, and Roth IRA through the backdoor.
Last edited by richmondam on Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

warowits

Re: Payoff Student Loans or Save?

Post by warowits » Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:04 pm

richmondam wrote:
Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:48 pm
Hi, I have $140K in student loans at 5.25%. I expect to have some free cash flow in the next couple of years, and am trying to decide whether to pay off the debt or save and invest. Investments are with an RIA right now, and current bull market not withstanding I expect to get consistently average market returns over time. Any thoughts would be appreciated - thanks!